Dot Painting a Mandala

Hello everyone!

Do you have a list of things that you might want to try out sometime?  Well, I do.  Dot painting!
I came across it a few years ago, watched a lot of videos of people painting with a stylus, acrylic paint and using stencils, and some even used crochet hooks.  I thought, I can do that!!


First thing I looked for were the crochet hooks,  I found some at a dollar store, 3 set of 2 in 6 different sizes.
And than they sat there, not being used for a few years.  So when I thought I was ready for it, I couldn’t find the crochet hooks, I looked everywhere!  Well, no dot painting I guess.   I put the whole dot paining thing out of my mind when one day I just saw them sitting there, in a nice glass jar waiting for me.

Wanting to see if I could find more dotting tools, I set out to look for other things as well, preferably tools that gave me lots of different size dots!

I found some screws and nails, they gave nice big dots.  The thing with the screw was that it has a hollow for the screwdriver which created an air bubble when dipped in the paint.  When pressed to the base it resulted in a little poof! of paint out to the side, and your round dot isn’t so round anymore…   I remedied it by putting some plaster in the hole.
The second picture shows 3 paperclips, or what is left of it anyway, a small skewer and a bigger skewer, the back is used for a size dot and the point for a much smaller size dot.

And who doesn’t have pencils!  I sure do, and a lot too so I have plenty to spare to use as dotting material.
To get the points all at different sizes I sharpened each pencil first, I then coloured with the numbers two through five until they had the right size, number one was the right size right from the start.  I made sure to hold the pencil upright to get an as rounded dot as I could get.
I used sandpaper to get the bigger size dots for pencils six through ten.
I sharpened the back of number eleven just a little bit to get the size dot that was a bit bigger than number ten, and for number twelve I used the back of another pencil.

The second picture is just one of the views in my studio.

I got some chipboard (cracker box material) ready by painting it black,  I do sand the shiny side so the paint will adhere to it.  After applying one coat to one side I found it warping, it righted itself after I had painted the other side as well.  I applied a second coat to both sides to make sure the board was completely covered.
I am drawing lines on the board so I can use them as guide lines to make sure the pattern is even.  First diagonal from corner to corner to find the centre.


Next the horizontal and vertical line.  Using a compass I draw 2 circles,  find the middle on the outer circle between a horizontal and diagonal line to make four more lines through the centre.  Now I have eight lines all together.

Making the first dot, which colour and what size shall I use, it’s always tough to start, I decided to use the biggest nail size and blue as the first colour, it IS a practice piece after all.  Second round is going to be a small dot on each of the eight lines.

At every round I add more dots, choosing colour and dot layout.

Here I ‘walk’ the dots, using one tool, load up on paint and make 5 dots in a row, the dots are getting smaller as I get to the fifth dot as there is less paint to draw from.

Adding more dots, a big one with smaller all around.

A few more rounds and I think it’s good to go.


Time to finish it by gluing this to a base of wood, in this case I use a piece of particle board that I salvaged from the back of an old dresser.  I used the table saw to cut it in 4″ square pieces.  The edge is painted black to match the background of the coaster.
I’m using a gel medium as glue, it is strong and won’t likely to come loose.

I applied clear water based clear varnish to one of the coasters and gel medium to another, just to see which I like best.  In the video I mention that I like the gel medium best, but I have since used the water based varnish using a very soft brush and applying two thin layers, it hardly leaves streaks and it is not near as shiny as the one I show in the video.  I think I brushed on a thick layer which gave it’s shiny look.

Update May 2, 2020,  white paint becomes creamy looking when using Varathane clear varnish as a finish.

I finish the coaster by adding a piece of cork to the back.

 

Thank you for watching, Geesje

Leave a comment